AMPS Awards for Excellence – Celebrating Innovation and Sustainability

The AMPs Awards for Excellence, held at the historic Motorcycle Museum in Solihull, concluded last evening in a grand ceremony celebrating the remarkable achievements within the industry. The event, marked by a display of commitment to sustainability and business growth, recognized the incredible contributions of its participants towards a greener future.

In his address, AMPS Director General, David Oates, expressed his gratitude and reflections on the event. “Thank you all for joining us at this splendid occasion. It was truly a magnificent night, filled with the spirit of innovation and excellence,” said Oates. He extended his thanks to the sponsors and judges for their indispensable support and to Dominic Holland for his brilliantly humorous take on the awards.

The entries this year were not just commendable but set a new benchmark for sustainable practices within the sector. Each submission, whether a front-runner or an example of innovative hard work, demonstrated a dedication that merits acknowledgment. This year’s awards illustrated that the journey to net zero is a passionate endeavour for everyone in the industry.

Oates added, “Our thanks go to all the participants for their hard work and determination. The judges and our wonderful sponsors deserve special mention for their expertise, time, and support in making these awards a reality. Congratulations to all the winners and those shortlisted for showing what it truly means to be at the forefront of the country’s path towards a Sustainable future.”

The event, apart from recognising the winners, also celebrated the efforts of all those who were shortlisted, acknowledging their role in driving the industry towards sustainability and growth.

The AMPS Awards for Excellence once again proved to be a perfect example of inspiration, highlighting the industry’s commitment to excellence and its role in shaping a sustainable future.

“We are thrilled to announce this year’s winners of the AMPS Awards for Excellence, alongside acknowledging the exceptional shortlisted companies from across Our membership that participated in the process. So many examples to review and an extremely difficult task to pick the winners, ” said Oates.

Apprentice of the Year: Hannah Magowan from Dale Power Solutions is our winner. Her remarkable journey includes academic excellence, advocacy for Women in Engineering, and significant contributions to innovative projects like the Thyristor-based control board and the DC alarm unit. Hannah’s leadership as a New Product Development Lead Engineer, particularly in sustainable battery energy storage, exemplifies the spirit of this award.

Member Company of the Year: IPU clinches the award for its longstanding industry relationship, innovative contributions, and extensive educational efforts. Their role in advancing AMPS objectives and dedication to sustainable solutions have set them apart as industry leaders.

Innovation and Technology Award: WB Power Services wins for their innovative WB e-Pod, a scalable standby power solution combining adaptability and sustainability. Their product has revolutionized standby power solutions, finding swift adoption in critical sectors like data centres and healthcare.

Environmental Product of the Year: The Atlas Copco ZBC 250/500 Battery Storage Unit is recognized for its sustainable approach to power generation. This unit exemplifies the ‘blanket zero’ concept, reducing emissions and operating noise while providing versatile and renewable power solutions.

Project of the Year: This year, we have two winners. Generator Power is celebrated for its technical ingenuity in the Gloucester Hospital NHS Trust project, ensuring uninterrupted power during critical upgrades. Eminox wins for the Sunbelt Energy Farm project, a pioneering sustainable construction effort on Europe’s largest rail infrastructure project, balancing environmental concerns with logistical efficiency.

Both were equally outstanding in their own ways hence the decision to split the award between them.

Business Growth and Strategy Award: Wakefield Acoustics earns this title for its strategic response to pandemic challenges and impressive growth, especially in power generation and data centres. Their expansion, community impact, and workforce development are commendable.

Energy and Sustainability: Prolectric stands out for its all-encompassing approach to sustainability, significantly reducing emissions while saving costs for clients. Their commitment to eco-friendly practices and community engagement sets a high standard in the sector.

Oates concluded, “Congratulations to the shortlisted companies, including Generator Power, Crestchic Loadbanks, MHM Group, Instagrid, IPU, Eminox, Volvo Penta, and Creshtic Loadbank. Your innovation, commitment, and pursuit of excellence are vital to our industry.”

Read more of the latest news from us

Future Waste magazine is available online today

Get updates on the go, follow us on Twitter

Post a Comment

Subscribe to our newsletter by using the form below.